h1

Finally I found me

November 8, 2012

So, it’s been quite some time since I’ve last used this site, but I can say with 99.9% confidence that I’m officially back and will soon be regularly posting again. Since I’ve last posted here I’ve evolved by leaps and bounds as a person/writer etc. For a few years, I had kind of lost my passion for writing, I wasn’t to sure of what I wanted to do with my life, so I put down my pencil and began exploring other areas that peaked my interest.

If you know me personally you know that music is a major part of my life, even as I’m typing now I have the Tenchu Stealth Assassins intro theme blasting into my headphones. Audio engineering had always something that I had done as a hobby, it wasn’t a natural talent, but something that I practiced enough to where I had gotten to be pretty decent at it. Combining those skills with my love for music, I figured becoming an audio engineer would pretty much be the perfect job for me. I mean, who wouldn’t want to get paid to sit in a studio and record music until you go deaf?

Since I was sure this was the path I wanted to take, I went to a recording institute to gain more knowledge on the techniques of engineering. Though in the long run I ended up not choosing music as my career path (I’ll go more in depth a bit later) I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything in the world. I got a chance to meet some amazingly talented people and I had second to none the coolest professors on the planet. That may have been the first and only time in my entire educational career that every day I looked forward to going to class because I knew I was going to learn about something that I actually cared about.

Though the experience was all I could have asked for, eventually reality started to set in, it was hard to accept it but it had hit me that even after spending over 100 classroom hours/lab time learning about recording music, that it honestly wasn’t something I could see myself doing for the rest of my life. It didn’t give me the real joy that I was looking for and it only partially filled the void.

I ended up having to go back to community college (long story that I don’t feel like talking about) to take a digital video class. The first major assignment was that we all were to write down ideas for short films and these ideas were to be shared to the class. I wasn’t to enthusiastic about this assignment, I thought I was done with college and yet I found myself back in a classroom that I never thought I would have to return to. Though I had my idea fully written out, I had contemplated not presenting it, but that little voice in the back of my head made me get up and share my semi creative idea with my peers. To my surprise, once I was done presenting my idea, enough people liked it to where it was decided that it would be turned into one of the short films that the class would work on.

Since the story was all originally my idea, it only made sense that I would be the one to write the script, and as I began writing that night it all finally started to click. With every page that passion that I had put to the side for years started to resurface, I was finally creating again, I was doing what I did since I was just a small child, I was writing. That empty space and void was filled again and for the short time while I was writing that script I was genuinely happy. My hard work eventually ended up paying off as I won the best script award at our colleges film festival.

And this brings me to now. I don’t have to think about it anymore, I’m not confused about what I want out of life. It’s simple, if I’m not writing then I’m not happy, it’s just that simple and point blank. Every thing else I do to make ends meet is temporary until I can somehow make my living by writing and expressing my creativity to the world. Now that this blog has been resurrected, I plan on posting much more content which will include short stories, scripts, blogs about life and whatever else is floating around inside my head.

If you’ve taken the time to read this I appreciate it, if not, then I hope you step barefoot on a Lego, peace love and crunch berries, you’ll be hearing from me again soon.

Leave a Reply

