h1

A new holiday proposal

August 20, 2010

Hmmmmm?

After many observations of the public and those around me I think it’s time that we institute a new mandatory holiday that should be celebrated worldwide. I haven’t yet came up with the name of this holiday yet, but its intention and function are pretty cut and straight to the point.

We need a holiday, where for a full 24 hour period, everybody on the planet follows the legendary phrase known as “shut the hell up.” Not one syllable nor one word shall be spoken, this day will be strictly used for thinking and thinking only. One of the main reasons why many of us find ourselves in various difficult situations is because we hardly ever take the simple time out just to sit and think about what we’re  going to do before we do it.

We live in a very instant society: instant messaging, instant text, instant tweets (I hate twitter) etc. Unfortunately when faced with complicated issues in this fast paced life style we instantly do or say the first thing that comes to our minds instead of taking that extra time to think about what exactly it is we really should be doing. The average human has two ears, two feet and one mouth, but that one mouth runs faster than both feet and punishes both ears by spewing out nonsense because many individuals don’t take the time to think about what they’re going to say before they say it. So this holiday will serve the purpose of giving us the opportunity to sort out whatever life problems and issues we may have. It will allow us to go to the drawing board and map out our X’s and O’s as we come up with some type of game plan to handle whatever task is currently at hand. Hopefully this holiday well be able to reduce the number of Homer Simpson “D’oh” moments that we have.

It's only right that I provide the visual

If you have any creative name for what this holiday should be called please feel free to leave a comment about it. As for me, I need to think about my next blogging topic, I have been on quite a writing drought lately.

11 comments

  1. That’s a rather interesting proposal… To have a full 24 hours spent in silence – around the world. I can just imagine the cascade of silence as the clock strikes the time when it was to be quiet. It would be kind of like Earth Hour when all the lights go out at a certain time around the world.

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage


  2. Can we shoot cats, birds, dogs and other wild critters who make too much noise?


    • I’m not a fan of many things that have more than two legs, just don’t shoot any turtles. The rest of the animal kingdom can be taken care of.


  3. so i guess festevus for the rest-of-us is out…

    haha


    • Kind of, either you use sign language or write everything out on paper lol.


  4. I forgot to add, facebook, myspace and twitter are banned on this holiday to.


    • oh thank goodness you didnt say wordpress cause im having withdrawals at work as it is being banned from blogs during the day hahha


  5. I don’t know if I could not talk for a whole day… I love talking. Now, if you could have that 24 hour period for my clients I’d love that, especially the texting/facebooking/ect. for them not to do for 24 hours. That would be bliss! Thanks for stopping by my blog!


  6. I think if I dedicated an entire 24 hours to thinking alone, I would definitely go insane. I don’t mind the no talking part, but to just think…I think I do too much of that as it is! 🙂 Interesting thought though…


  7. I think that this is a good idea….just for people to reflect on the stuff that they need to do….short term and long term goals….I tend to do this, not in complete silence, but time to myself that I can reflect. BUT it would be helpful to people who tend to have no self control of their actions/behaviors. This day should be called: Who Would Have Thought Day! 😉

    http://www.happinesswhatsittoyou.wordpress.com


    • Love the holiday name. you’re a genius.



Leave a Reply

