h1

The Art Of Appreciation

July 15, 2010

If you have a roof over your head then you are blessed, if you have a computer and a monitor that allows you to read this very sentence then you are a fortunate human being. Too may times I’ve heard people complain about not having this, that and the third, whatever happened to just appreciating what you do have right now at this very moment? I still remember that only about 5 years ago I was 16 and had to share a cramped up room and bed with my older brother. As you can imagine two life sized men sharing one resting place can be a tad bit uncomfortable to say the least, but we made the best of it. Fast forward to now and I have a room that I can call my own, also a bed that I no longer have to share. I can toss and turn freely without having to worry about delivering a Muay Thai elbow to the back of somebodies cranium. I also remember having a broken washing machine in the basement that just sat there and took up space. With no sufficient funds to buy another machine we resorted to the old fashioned way of cleaning clothes which required soaking them in buckets and doing way too much scrubbing than I cared for. Fast forward again and I now have a nice washer and dryer that does all of my work for me as I just sit back and watch family guy re-runs all day. Struggle always brings about appreciation, so I find happiness in the smallest things that some people seem to take for granted everyday. So cherish the bed you sleep in, the air conditioner that keeps your house cold during the summer heat waves, the washing machine that cleans your clothes for you, the electricity that illuminates your house and the food that you have in your refrigerator. These are the things that even in 2010 not everyone has, so appreciate these luxuries and remember everyday that you’re blessed to have them. Life isn’t always about getting what you want, but appreciating what possessions you do have and making the best of them.

One comment

  1. I totally agree! you should read this post she points at the same thing: http://glakia.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/is-the-grass-really-greener/

    thank you for your comment btw (a little late i know) i’m very proud over that picture so its nice to get some appreciation 😀

    where in the world are you?



Leave a Reply

